Chronicle: Chapter 1

I attempted to open my eyes, but they felt like they were pumped full of lead. When I finally did get them open, I saw a figure sitting by my feet. I blinked a little bit to clear my vision, and the person got clearer.

It was a guy. He had dark skin and hair, and he was wearing a blue t-shirt and jeans. I tried to turn my head, but a sudden pain stopped and made me hiss. The guy turned to me and I saw his face for the first time. I froze in shock as I stared into his brown eyes.

No flipping way! Michael B. Jordan! Okay, don’t panic. I’m probably hallucinating.

“You okay?” he questioned. I squeezed my eyes shut and brought my hands up to them, rubbing them to see if the hallucination will go away. When I opened them again, Michael was sitting in the same spot.

“Yeah,” I said, trying not to freak out. “Where am I?” I started looking at my surrounding as slowly as I could to take in all of this information.

“You’re at my house. I found you on the sidewalk last night.” He paused. “Sorry if that sounded weird.”

His living room was decently sized with a flat screen TV in front of the couch that we were sitting on, and the fan was on. I guess it was to give me some air. I felt the bag of ice that was on my forehead slip off as I turned. I tried to sit up.

“No problem. I’m sorry if I was an inconvenience at all.” He held a hand out to me while turning the TV off with the remote. “Don’t worry about it. We were happy to help you.” He then stood up. “I’ll be right back.” He left the room and went into the kitchen that was next to a set of stairs that went down. I heard him talking to someone, it sounded female, and he walked back in.

“I’m Steve, by the way. Steve Montgomery.” He extended a hand. I took his hand in shock.

“KamrynnMaklane,” I introduced. Steve Montgomery? Montgomery? The movie “Chronicle” stuck in my head. No way! I’m in Chronicle! What did Dahlia do to that ring?

“Nice to meet you.” A woman walked in carrying a plate with muffins and bacon on it. “This is my mom. Mom, this is Kamrynn.”

“Nice to meet you Kamrynn. I brought you some breakfast. You must be hungry.”

“Oh, no thank you, I don’t want to be an inconveni-“

“Young lady, no more talking. You are not an inconvenience, and you will eat your food.” She winked at me with a playful smile and set the plate down. Michael/Steve instantly went to grab a muffin, but Ms. Montgomery slapped at his hands. “Let the guest have some first. You football players eat too much.” I chuckled a little bit at Steve’s face before taking one of the chocolate muffins. “Thank you Ms. Montgomery.”

“Call me Cher.”

“Thank you, Cher.”

“You’re welcome honey.” She headed back to the kitchen and Steve grabbed a strip of bacon.

“So, can I walk a pretty lady home?”

“Trying to get rid of me now?” I questioned with a playful raised eyebrow. Steve’s eyes widened.

“No! I didn’t mean it like that! I meant when you feel like going home, can I walk you home?”

“Thanks, but I don’t know how I even got here. What city are we in?” Steve gave me a confused look. “Um, Seattle?” I almost dropped my muffin.

“What? Seattle? Before I blacked out, I was in Colorado Springs.” Steve’s face couldn’t look more confused than he already was. “You must have really hit your head. I’ll get you some water.”

“No. No, it’s okay. I’ll just be on my way.” I started toward the door, but Steve ran in front of me.

“How will you find your way home if it’s in a different state?” I stopped and tilted my head.

“That’s a good point.” I then looked down at my feet. “What am I going to do?”

“You can stay here as long as you want,” Cher said walking back out of the kitchen with a glass of water. She handed it to me, and I thanked her.

“Are you sure. I don’t want to be a burden.”

“You will stay here for as long as you want. Don’t make me ground you.” I laughed and set the glass on the table in front of the TV. “Thank you. Both of you.”

“It’s no problem,” she said as Steve sat on the couch again with me. I pulled my legs up and set my head on my knees. Maybe I can figure out how to get home while I’m here.

It’s been a couple of weeks since the accident and Cher decided to enroll me into school for the last semester of my senior year. I had attempted to get into contact with my family, but every time the automated voice continued to say that there was no one with that number available. I was shopping with my new “mother”, as Cher wanted me to think of her, and Steve on a Sunday before my first day of school when my phone started ringing. The only other person that I knew in this world was Steve’s girlfriend, and she was out of town for the day and couldn’t use her phone. I checked the caller ID and it said in bright blue letters “Dahlia Black.”

Admin K, going on a cruise, will have more for you all in a weeks time!

Leave a Reply

