Chronicle: Chapter 3

“Lunchtime,” I muttered to myself as I gathered my books after my English class. Dahlia giggled next to me while we headed out of the classroom. We followed the other students out through the back door and towards the football field. There were some cheerleaders practicing in front of it and out of the corner of my eye, I saw someone sitting in the bleachers. I physically turned and saw Andrew pointing his camera toward Dahlia and me, but did a double-take to make it seem like I didn’t see him the first time. I waved enthusiastically toward him and he looked around at his empty surroundings before pointing to himself and mouthing “Me?”

I giggled and Dahlia and I headed up the bleachers to sit next to him. “Hi, Andrew,” I greeted. He just stared at the two of us in shock.

“Uh, hi.” I sat on his left while Dahlia sat on his right.

“Why are you sitting by yourself? Don’t you have some friends to hang out with?” Dahlia asked. He adjusted his camera and while he was lent backward, Dahlia and I exchanged a knowing look.

“Umm. No. I-uh. I don’t have any friends. I mean, my cousin goes here, but I don’t really have any friends.”

“Is that why you have the camera? Gives you a barrier or something from people?” I gave Dahlia a quick look as Andrew scratched his head and took out a sandwich.

“Umm. I guess.”

I shook my head. “Well, Andrew, I would gladly like to be your friend,” I said with a smile. “If you would allow me to, of course. I mean, if you don’t want me to then we could go….”

“No, no. It’s fine.” I smiled at him and took out a baggie of goldfish. We all ate in silence for a second or two before Dahlia spoke up.

“I’m Dahlia by the way. It’s nice to meet you.”

“You, too,” Andrew replied after he swallowed. A girl in a cheerleading outfit suddenly approached us.

“Uh, hi.”

“Hello,” we replied.

“Can you, like, not film us? It’s really creepy.”

“Oh, no, I wasn’t filming you,” Andrew defended quickly while grabbing the camera. I jumped in, trying to save the situation, seeing as I didn’t know what happens after this part.

“We were doing a documentary of high school life for my blog. Sorry if it seemed like we were filming you but we were actually zoomed into the sky and the camera wasn’t recording.” She nodded in approval.

“Oh, okay. I’m sorry. I thought you were recording our practice.”

“Oh, no!” Dahlia slid in. “We wouldn’t do that. I myself think it’s disrespectful without someone’s permission.”

“Okay, just making sure. Good luck on your blog.”

“Thank you!” I said as she walked off. I rolled my eyes and pinched the bridge of my nose. “Gosh, she’s not that smart. She does know that when the red light is on that the camera is recording right?”

“Not everyone has basic knowledge like you, Kam,” Dahlia reminded sarcastically. I imitated her childishly making Andrew laugh and I smiled at him.

“So, this is my locker,” Andrew said as we walked with him through the halls during our off period. He was narrating and talking to us at the same time, showing us around the school. Suddenly he was pulled away from us and put into a headlock while someone else took his camera.

“What is this?” A guy with curly hair asked, looking into the camera.

“Hey, you’re on film man, smile!” Wade, the school d-bag said smacking Andrew in the face a couple of times. I looked at the guy with the camera and groaned.

“Come on, give it back,” I said, trying to be nice. The camera was put on me as Wade messed with Andrew and Dahlia was being harassed by the other guys. She pushed one of them and went to Wade who was still smacking Andrew around. I tried to grab the camera but he pulled it away and stuck a hand out to keep me in my place, taking his chances by putting it close to my chest and smirking.

I grabbed his hand and twisted it backward and went to grab the camera but he dropped it in surprise. I stuck my foot out to loosen the impact so it wouldn’t break, hurting myself in the process and I let the guy go. Another guy grabbed it from the ground and the bell rang while Wade and the rest of them left.

“Give it back, Sean,” Andrew said, standing near the lockers.

“OH, you want this? This piece of shit from like 2004?” He set it down. “Here she is, still in one piece.” He kicked it over and it smashed into the locker before he and the other guy left as well. The other guy gave me a glare and I rose an eyebrow.

“Assholes,” Andrew muttered as he made sure that the camera was okay.

“You okay?” I asked him after my intense stare-down. He nodded, not looking me in the eye. I frowned as he led us to our last class of the day. Chemistry, oh boy.

“So, there’s a party tonight if you want to go,” Steve stated after school ended and Andrew quickly left the classroom with his camera raised. I nodded with a pondering look on my face. On the inside, my stomach was bubbling with excitement, but I had to consider the danger of going.

If I didn’t go, then I would be missing out on a crazy but fun party with techno music and drunk people, and could possibly become the weird loner of the school that could be an easy target for bullying because I’m not cool enough. Plus, I would miss out on a certain event that could make or break my frienda and me.

On the other hand, if I did go, then there was a good chance that I could….change things.

I literally had power over the future. I had responsibility over everything that happened from this moment on.

And it was that moment that I had to make a decision. I could change the course of events, or let it ride and let nature take its course.

“So, you want me to pick you up, or are you guys gonna stay home?” Steve questioned, breaking me out of my thoughts. I smiled.

Fuck it. I’m gonna get SUPER POWERS! And telekinesis out of all of them! Why not?

“Sure, why not,” I answered. Dahlia gave me a smirk as we walked with Steve to her car. Steve’s girlfriend ran up and pulled him away sometime while we were in the hallway, so we were alone among the mass of testosterone and estrogen in the facility.

“What the hell did you just get us into?” Dahlia questioned. “You do know the consequences and responsibilities of going right? You said so yourself, this is DANGEROUS!”

“I know, I know,” I said. “But think about it. We could change things.” I leaned in closer. “We have the power to change the future. You know how I felt at the end of the movie. You know what’ll happen and you know why, too. Just think about what would happen if we did something about all of this. Please, D.” She gave me an unsure look. “Besides, you said that your favorite super power was telekinesis,” I said with a smirk.

She broke out into a grin as we approached her car and hopped in. “Fine,” she said, finally. “Maybe you could get through to Andrew, anyway. Make him feel like he really isn’t the only one in the world.” She wiggled her eyebrows at me and I punched her in the arm.

“Shut up.” I could feel myself blushing as she laughed at me.

Leave a Reply

